Annual Judy Lopez Award

At an awards dinner, held each year at the University of California, Los Angeles Faculty Center, the medalist and honor book authors are presented with awards and their books are celebrated.

For a book to be considered for the Judy Lopez award, its author must be a either a citizen or a resident of the United States and the book must have been published in the United States in the year that preceded the award. Each year the WNBA/LA convenes a panel of judges for the award composed of children’s librarians and other professionals in the field of children’s literature. This panel selects a winning book (the Medalist) and several honor books.

Publishers and authors are invited to submit those books that they wish to have considered for the award to the WNBA/LA Selection Committee. Click here for the submission guidelines and instructions.

Anabela Sanchez buys books from Suzanne Kleinbub Maxine Lucas
Marilyn Taniguchi and Ruth Light Judith Kantor Gail Kim and her daughter Liana and Coco Lopez Anagnostakis
Melinda Woolf and author Neal Shusterman Ruth Light and Laurel Shapiro Jared and Julia Drake
Award Medal

The talks given at the dinner by the winning authors are both interesting and enjoyable. Whether you are 8 years old or 90 years old or any age in between, you will be both engaged and entertained by the talks. You will have a good time when you attend the dinner.

If you would like to attend the next award dinner, you may add your name and address to the mailing list.